top of page
Search

Unity Leads To Understanding

I hate racism… I hate violence… I hate division between our fellow man. I hate riots and brutality of any kind. These are not new problems, but in the wake of what is going on in our world right now, we all have been forced to examine, not just those around us, but examine our own hearts and face the problem. A very inquisitive young lady asked a question that has been raging within my spirit… “In the midst of hatred and racism, where is the church? How can any injustice survive, and sometimes thrive, when there is a Church (The Bride of Christ) on the earth?” I ask, isn’t the church meant to PUSH BACK THE GATES OF HELL?


I want to write this in hopes of encouraging us all to strive for unity in the middle of this division that is rifting our communities, and especially the Church. I am especially calling forth my generation to help in this mandate. You see, I was born right in the middle of the two largest generations on the earth today. I was born into Generation X, found right in between the Baby Boomers and The Millennials. And what I see is that these two generations on either side of me are saying the same thing, even though they may feel like we are speaking different languages. Generation X is known to ride the fence when it comes to matters in our nation (I’m saying this with FULL LOVE IN MY HEART). We find it difficult sometimes to know which way to turn. I mean can you blame us? Many of us were raised by Baby Boomers and then gave birth to Millennials or Generation Z (which I might add is looking directly at us in these moments of great controversy). I want to plead for my generation, Generation X, to not ride the fence but to rather help build the bridge. One that leads to common ground, common language, and benefits mankind…


So in the midst of this racial topic I found myself NOT wanting to look at the chaos around me to help me create an opinion about what to do next… so I went to the source of ALL TRUTH, the Living Word of God. Do we think that racism didn’t exist in Jesus’ time? There was racial tension and cultural divide that had lasted since the beginning of time. How did Jesus respond to the ways of the world? What was His solution to “the way it had always been”? What was his approach to racial tension that existed between neighbors? One ENCOUNTER at a time… What I love is that Jesus included everyone by including them in the Kingdom promises of healing, restoration, of eternity itself. But He also understood that it would take longer than even His physical life on earth to come to the full understanding of inclusion; but He was willing to break down barriers one person at a time, one moment at a time, one mission at a time. He saw the person in front of Him regardless of sex, color, cultural background, or even sin.


Because He led in this example, His disciples began to tear down the cultural divide after His resurrection, even within the church, in order to include ALL in the Kingdom authority. There was a huge divide between Jews and Gentiles and Jesus broke down the walls and strongholds that separate us so that we could all be included in ETERNITY and in the NOW, and it was up to the disciples to live it out! As disciples we need to remember that we have AUTHORITY over all the injustice and evil that is raging in the world right now. And when I say INJUSTICE I am talking about more than just racism. I’m including all acts of violence, murder, evil and destruction that at times leave us feeling helpless. But we as a Church are not victims! We are not helpless. We are entrusted with the authority that Jesus died to give us! In Acts 1:8 Jesus told them before His ascension, “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem; in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” We have power to truly act in authority to become the answer and point others to the solution, which is Jesus through the Holy Spirit!


Racism is more than a war we wage against in the flesh, it is a SPIRITUAL BATTLE. Satan is constantly working against the unity of the body, and that is the ENTIRE BODY, the ENTIRE WORLD, all races, all cultures, all colors who believe and follow Jesus Christ the Messiah, what I call the Big C Church. Yet the enemy’s divisiveness cannot over power the truth that Jesus’ death gave us all entry into the multicultural, multicolored, (Jews and Gentiles together) KINGDOM of HEAVEN. I ask a question… Is there a place on the earth right now that is doing it “right”? Is there somewhere where people live in harmony, regardless of race? Is there a place where life is valued and fought to protect? Is there a place where unity and understanding link arms daily to create a safe haven flourishing in love? Does that place exist on earth? If so, let’s go and take notes. Let’s ask lots of questions and really listen so that our hearts will be changed through wisdom and knowledge. And if we can’t find it on earth, I’ll tell you place where it does exist right now in this very moment. It exists in Heaven! All nations, all generations, all peoples, all of God’s children are all living an abundant eternal life right now free from injustice. So why don’t we ask the Expert in unity? Why don’t we ask our Comforter from Heaven, the Holy Spirit, to intervene on our behalf so that we may be enlightened on the real plan of action!


When I think of the day of Pentecost, I can begin to see a solution a little more clearly. There were the masses, all of different origins, all speaking different languages, and there as they waited the Holy Spirit came and gave them tongues of fire and what came out of their mouths was UNDERSTANDING AND UNITY (Acts 2:1-12)! There in that moment, supernaturally they were speaking not only a heavenly language, but one of each other’s mother tongues so that those around them could understand the message! All unified in the Spirit, with the very Spirit of God. Can you imagine? They were all unified with Heaven itself because of the Holy Spirit. One of the greatest miracles that day was that others could hear hope in a way they could understand! I think some of the ways we are trying to speak (or even our silence) are getting lost in translation. Some of the ways people are trying to take a stand or a knee are getting lost in translation. Some of it becomes offensive, even though that is not the intention. I think there are not enough real conversations (in English or whatever language you speak) about the solutions to conquer the divide in our country. When I say “real” I mean the authentic conversations that will lead to UNDERSTANDING AND UNITY so that we can be moved with compassion and change. And I’m also talking about them taking place in the church as the church. We can’t look to the world to give us solutions. Jesus is the only solution to the heart problem we face. Not even laws can fully solve the heart problem; I mean look at why Jesus needed to come and save us all in the first place…


A wise woman once told me there is a difference between being invited and inclusion… Being invited to the dance is always a nice gesture, but being included in the dance takes someone showing you the dance moves! It is time that we do more than invite the conversations that will lead to understanding and change; we must begin to move, all of us in unison, to the dance of inclusion, unity, and reconciliation by Our Savior’s example. Let us humble ourselves, examine our hearts, invite conversations, become friends with our neighbors, help one another, and include each other in real plans of action that will lead to unity. We are the Church of the Living God, and we have power and authority to lead our country to the peace, hope, and love that can only be found in Christ. We have been given power and authority to trample on the serpent who comes to divide. It is time…

“By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” John 13:35

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page