top of page
Search

12 lessons from 2020

Hello family and friends, it feels like a long time since I have written on this blog. I have tried to write something but I have felt so out of touch with myself. I feel like I have blinders on trying my best to avoid everything until I make it to 2021. It’s more that I am anticipating 2021 because I officially start school again and that’s exciting and also because I am so ready for 2020 to be over. Although 2020 was rude, I did learn so much within the last year. I thought about doing a 12 days of Christmas theme, but it turned into 12 things 2020 taught me. So I am trusting the Lord and going to share with you some things I learned last year and pray that it speaks to you in whatever way is needed.


The 12 things 2020 taught me:

  1. Volunteer more!

  2. Call a friend on a Sunday for 10 minutes

  3. Invest in the children around you

  4. Take more pictures!

  5. Go somewhere new once a month.

  6. Cook more! You're good at it.

  7. Clean your car!

  8. Write more letters

  9. Be proud of your guilty pleasures!

  10. Be in community

  11. Go for a drive

  12. Love one another


  1. Volunteer more!

I think volunteering has looked so different this year. When covid hit Lubbock there was a desperate need for art supplies, coloring books, and books at nursing homes. I was a teacher at that time and asked for donations of used books. I went through my own books that I have and felt so much joy knowing my favorite books would be read. Before we sent our box of donations our class made a few coloring pages for the residents to look at. What does volunteering look like to you? Maybe it means offering to bring dinner to someone who is quarantined, or donating some board games to a nursing home. There are so many ways we can allow Jesus to use us.


2. Call a friend on a Sunday for 10 minutes.

So, I have never been one to call up old friends, sometimes I will send an occasional Happy Birthday greeting. But then Covid. Covid really changed things up for me because friendships were being kept up through our phones instead of in person. This is really challenging for me, it’s so much easier for me to go get a cup of coffee with you or share a meal. But with 2020 nothing is normal anymore, I was now learning how to have friendships over the phone. It’s not all bad, I have had some great conversations with a friend who lives in a tiny town 40 minutes away. We were working on a conference and were planning the set list over the phone. Little did we know we would have an almost 2 hours conversation about what Jesus is doing in our communities. So pick up the phone, you will be surprised to learn Jesus is working even when we don't see it.


3. Invest in the children around you.

If you look at my little sister and baby cousins… surprise. They are not babies anymore. 2020 has definitely made that evident in every way possible. My sister and cousins are now taller than me and have more drama than a netflix series! This past weekend was our first time together all year really. And as we talked and caught up I could see how 2020 has really affected them. Schools closing, virtual, or face to face? Masks on. Social media 24/7.

Man, our kids are going through some things guys. We need to be in prayer for this generation more than ever. I shared with my older cousins that God is a redeeming God. Nothing is too hard for Him to fix, nothing is truly broken, and someone loves you. Maybe you need to hear that today but especially our kids need to know that 2020 is not too hard for God. In fact 2020 will be redeemed in Jesus name. And someone loves them. Children are an investment and that time only lasts for a little while.


4.Take more pictures!

When I was sick with COVID my last week of isolation was filled with scrolling. And it was a good scroll, it helped me feel connected to you guys. I loved seeing my family go eat Orlandos without me (haha), seeing old friends baby bumps, wedding pictures, engagement pictures, gender reveals… shall I go on! Those pictures really kept me going. So take that selfie! Or if you are like me, take the photo shoot of your cat, maybe dog, daughter! Someone out there is feeling a part of something when they like your picture. Someone is smiling just from looking at your smile!


5.Go somewhere new once a month.

Support small business! I guess I became aware of this because I now work at a small local business. My best friend is always recommending me to local places and I truly appreciate that. Lubbock has a lot to offer and these people work so hard to be open everyday. Right when the pandemic hit, we tried a local indian place on 50th. The sweetest old man delivered our food right to our car. Our food was DELICIOUS. I’m serious, I was surprised because I am a very picky eater. Well I called the next week to place an order and was devastated to hear they were closed because of the pandemic. After that I made a promise to small businesses that I would try and explore once a month. So last month we visited a local tea place that is run by a missionary family. The tea they serve is from recipes they learned from around the world. This month we tried a local Korean restaurant and also learned that our favorite indian place is back open!


6.Cook more! You're good at it

Last year my mantra was I am not a great cook and 2020 changed that for me. When we were in lock down earlier this year, I was forced to get good at cooking. I have my mom, pinterest, facebook, tik tok, and youtube to thank. Not only did I cook but I have reinvented ramen in our household. I add real vegetables and you can’t even tell you're eating a package of ramen. I did learn how to make many dishes, our favorite being a baked pasta with chopped zucchini and mozzarella pearls.



7. Girl, clean your car!

This next one should have quotation marks because these are the words of my sister. I am actually a very clean person! It gets tricky in the car because when I start to get busy and have no time the car becomes, where I eat before work, and I don't have a trash can or a trash service in there. But I did finally do a good cleanse. I went in there and vacuumed and disinfected. The next day I had actually forgotten I did all that and was surprised to see my car so clean! I said, “Okay Mia we are going to keep it like this!...” But life happens… there is actually trash I need to clean up as we speak.


8. Write more letters

Last year our ministry started sending out our invitations by mail. There was something so sweet going to the postal office, buying stamps, and lifting my carrier signal flag. Knowing this cute little piece of paper will travel all around Lubbock into someone else’s mailbox. My favorite memory is a dear friend sent me a beautiful card when I was sick and getting it in the mail just touched my heart. It’s the little things for me really, and maybe it is for you too! If you don’t have anyone to write letters with let me know, and we can be pen pals.


9.Be proud of your guilty pleasures!

After someone has told me their new favorite show, or book they suddenly become ashamed and must explain to me why. I am the same way. Let’s just agree that we won't feel ashamed of who we are and what we like! Last year was tough for everyone so if a show about baby yoda helped you get through it then flaunt it! Maybe you like watching 90 day fiance, or anything starwars! Let’s agree not to judge someone. So when a family member tells you they have been binge watching something you think is weird don’t make that face and say “Oh really?” Girl we know you’ve been watching the Queen's gambit and looked up how to play chess. Let’s allow people to unashamedly be themselves around us.


10. Be in community.

This is a hard one for me. I am an introvert so being wrapped in a blanket sounds so much better than going to someone else’s house…. I mean what if they don’t have blankets! However… being away from my friends, church family, and real family, made me really value being with them. Being in their presence listening to how their week has been. I used to shoot right out the door after service but now I linger… really soaking in the faces around me. Each one of us has lost something and one thing we can gain is community.


11. Go for a drive

I have one good memory during the time I had covid. I think it was our 8th day not being able to leave the house, and I was feeling much better. We waited until midnight and got in the car and took a drive around the loop. As we drove we talked about how our lives had been Lubbock, we saw a sign that said Amarillo and talked about how we were excited for me to start school. I don’t think I had ever got into the car just to drive around the loop, but it became the routine while we were in quarantine. It helped our days become a little more tolerable.




12. Finally, Love on another...

I think this 2020 for me has been the most challenging year yet. I had a job change, house change, life change, in the middle of a pandemic. When things were looking most certainly unsure… I forced myself to make choices in hopes of a year that would continue. Surrounded by angry and frustrated people, it was never more aware to me that all someone needs is a hug and to know someone loves them. Obviously, that doesn’t cure all hurt, but Jesus does. We are still in a fallen world and our purpose on this earth has never been more clear. 2020 practically spelled out your purpose on this earth. If you are a follower of Jesus Christ I ask you to turn on the news, or check your facebook because you will see a weary world in desperate need for the gospel.


All I can say is we made it guys. 2021 is here! I am going to be carrying all my lessons ino the new year! Please share with us a way that Jesus showed you His love in 2020 down in the comments or our facebook page. We know God has never stopped working and in fact has used last year for only good.


“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me. I will be found by you,” says the Lord.

Jeremiah 29:11


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page