top of page
Search

Trust


At the beginning of the year I was asked by a couple of close friends “What is your anthem word for this year?” and to be honest I’ve never been asked to a pick a word, much less a word that would be used as a spiritually guide throughout the year, yet I was intrigued!  I immediately came up with multiple words, yet one that really resonated with me as I was trying to narrow my decision was Surrender. Just one of the definitions of surrender that stuck out to me was “to yield to the power, control, or possession of another.”(Merriam-Webster Dictionary).


Have you ever had to surrender anything in your life? What about an outlook to life that hasn’t come to pass? Our thoughts about what and where our life should be by our timeframe can really put a damper on how we look at the future. If you are like me, I am and have always been a planner, my mind has always kind of plotted milestones and goals to achieve by a certain age and well, as we all know God doesn’t necessarily allow our plans for life to transpire as we’d wish. Yet one thing that I have found peace in when dealing with the “whys” of life is that God has the upmost love for us, and that He is so worthy of our trust regardless of the fact that my prayers of asking may never get answered.


It’s a hard thing to grasp sometimes, especially in a world we live in today where television and social media give us full access to people who seem to miraculously proclaim things over their lives; the promotion, the marriage, the child, and poof! They get what they proclaimed and declare it to the world that “it was their unfailing faith” that God gave them that blessing, yet let’s be real, God does not measure ones faith with blessings! I needed to understand that, He acts in wisdom and love for us, and I needed to just accept that He can see things that we simply cannot. Maybe it’ll be until we are face to face with our God that we will get the answers we so long  for, but for now we must surrender our doubts or transgressions to the Lord and feel the freedom of the weight coming off of our shoulders allowing Him to carry it for us. I think that is the beauty of surrendering, we let go of our will and praise Him for His being done.

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 NIV


This scripture reminds me to rejoice! Instead of just tolerating what God is doing in my life, I must accept and embrace that God is in control and trust His will by rejoicing and giving thanks for his goodness without expectations!

My prayer for you is that whatever mountain you may be climbing, learn to surrender to God. Not just “giving up” but “giving over” what keeps you from truly seeking a relationship with Him. Give over the waiting, your suffering, your finances, or any other circumstances you may be battling while on earth. Learn to thank and praise Him without expectation and to trust that He will hear your prayers, and His purpose will be done in His time and in His way.

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is- His good, pleasing and perfect will.” Romans 12:2 NIV




37 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page